Hammond earns second Sunoco Sportsman Modified win

WALTER J. HAMMOND wheeled his No. 98 car to his second victory of the season. Photo by Bill McGaffin

West Haven — Saturday night at Devil’s Bowl was warm with folks from CCV (Community College of Vermont) on hand, along with Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified racers in town. 

Walter J. Hammond handled the heat by burning up the Devil’s Bowl clay earning his second Sunoco Sportsman Modified feature win this season. Bubba McPhee, William Lussier Jr., Gage Provencher, and Allen Hewitt also visited victory lane.

Adam Piper and Shawn McPhee led the strong 30-car Sunoco Sportsman Modified field to Bob Bigelow’s green silk, with Leicester racer Piper taking the early lead with his R&L Rubbish Removal 66. He would lead for 16 laps until the fifth-place starting Walter J. Hammond came knocking, wheeling his WH Building & Design 98H. The Canaan, Nh driver, already had one win on the season and was looking for number two.

Hammond took the lead and held off a late race challenge from Wells racer Don Mattison in his Monroe Mines number 10 to earn his second season victory. 

Manchester Center driver Frank Hoard made some noise in his MJ Peltier Construction number 13 machine racing, going from ninth to second, but ran out of laps. Hoard, Mattison, Tim LaDuc, and Anthony Warren rounded out the top five finishers.  Don Mattison, Walter J. Hammond, and Brent Warren were heat race winners. 

Troy Audet earned Elmo’s Pit Stop Bonus Bucks worth $100 via random draw at the pit meeting, while Tim LaDuc put on a show earning the John Bruno Memorial Hard Charger honors, also worth a $100 bonus presented by Ed ‘Elmo’ Allen and the folks from Elmo’s Pit Stop. LaDuc started 17th and raced his way to fourth.

The popular young man named Bubba earned his second O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman feature win Saturday night. Rutland racer John “Bubba” McPhee parked it, as the kids say, with his Mike Hence Trucking number 22J. McPhee started third, took the lead on lap three, and held off Alex Layn for the win. Layn, Josh LeClaire, Jason Quenneville, and John Gosselin completed the top five finishers. Cody O’Brien, Bubba McPhee, and Freddie Little earned heat race victories.

Another Devil’s Bowl fan favorite rolled into victory lane after William Lussier Jr. earned the victory in the 20-lap Hoosier Daddy Racing Rookie Sportsman main event. The Fair Haven racer took advantage of a front row starting spot to grab the lead and never looked back, driving his Up 2 BBQ number 25. Josh Bussino, Boomer Patterson, Kamden Duffy, and Daryl Gebo rounded out the top five finishers. William Lussier Jr. and Bobbie Hults were heat race winners.

Allen Hewitt earned his first win of the season in the 15-lap Mini Stock A-Main. The Rutland racer started fourth, took the lead on lap four, and cruised to the win. He was followed by Chris Conroy, Brian Blake, Chris Sumner, and Jakobee Alger, completing the top five finishers. Chris Conroy, Adam Mahoney, and Chris Sumner were heat race winners. 

Luke Fellows won the 10-lap Mini Stock B-Main.

Gage Provencher earned his second Friend Construction 15-lap 500cc Mini Sprint feature win on Saturday night. The Bridport driver wasted no time taking the top spot and sprinting to the win. Rounding out the top five finishers were Lane Saville, Raelin Dunham, Roger LaDuc, and Logan Dennis.Next up for Devil’s Bowl Speedway is Stone Motors night, including all weekly divisions in action and another $500 to win Enduro. Pit gates open at 3 p.m, grandstands open at 5:30 p.m., and racing is scheduled to start at 7 p.m. 

Share this story:
Back to Top