Troy Audet snags second checkered flag at Devil’s Bowl

TROY AUDET CELEBRATES next to his No. 13 car after scoring his second series win at Devil’s Bowl on Hometown Heroes Night. Photo by Bill McGaffin

West Haven — Healthy crowds cheered on the Devil’s Bowl Speedway competitors on Saturday, including Sunoco Sportsman Modified driver Troy Audet who earned his second win of the season in the 30-lap main event. Cody O’Brien, Tim Aldrighetti, Adam LaFountain, Logan Dennis, and Matt Wade also earned victories on a ‘Hometown Heroes’ night honoring first responders and military.

Troy Audet and Brent Warren led the 28-car Sunoco Sportsman Modified field to the high-flying green silk flown by Bob Bigelow. The two drivers swapped the lead early, with Audet securing the top spot for good on lap eight with his G. Stone Commercial number 13A. 

Jimmy Davis gave chase in the East Coast Rubbish Removal 24 car racing from tenth to second before he ran out of time.

Johnny Bruno, driving his Bruno’s Towing 22 Bicknell, did some moving and shaking as he raced forward from his ninth-place starting spot to finish in the top five. The same goes for the Back Road Hair Styles Hair Salon 60W of Anthony Warren, who also battled his way inside the top five. But it all happened behind Audet, who earned his second win of the season. 

Jimmy Davis, Johnny Bruno, Walt Hammond Jr., and Anthony Warren completed the top five finishers. Troy Audet, Austin Comes, and James Hanson were heat race winners. Marty Kelly III earned Elmo’s Pit Stop Bonus Bucks worth $100 via random draw at the pit meeting, while Vince Quenneville earned the CJ Richards Memorial Hard Charger honors and a $100 bonus from Ed ‘Elmo’ Allen and Elmo’s Pit Stop. Quenneville started 23rd and raced his way to ninth.

Twin 20’s for the O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman division meant double the action. Springfield driver Cody O’Brien raced from his fifth starting spot to the win in Twin 20 number 1. He was followed by ‘Santa’ Bob Kilburn, Gary English, Jason Quenneville, and Randy Ryan in the top five.

In O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman twin 20 number 2, Bethel driver Tim Aldrighetti raced his way to victory lane after starting sixth. He was followed by John Gosselin, William Duprey, Hunter Nutter, and Alex Layn in the top five. Mike McGinn, Cody O’Brien, and Josh LeClaire earned heat race victories.

Adam LaFountain won the 20-lap Hoosier Daddy Racing Rookie Sportsman main event. The Starksboro racer started fourth and took the lead on lap four, never looking back. Kamden Duffy, Daryl Gebo, Josh Bussino, and Holden Bass would round out the top five. Holden Bass and Adam LaFountain were heat race winners.

Matt Wade claimed victory in the 15-lap Mini Stock A-Main. It was his first win this season and came at a good time as the Fair Haven driver is currently third in the championship point standings. Adam Mahoney, Chris Sumner, Chase Allen, and Jake Barrows completed the top five finishers. Griff Mahoney, Chris Sumner, and Austin McKirryher were heat race winners. 

Nick Melotti won the 10-lap Mini Stock B-Main.

Current point leader Logan Dennis raced his way to another Friend Construction 15-lap 500cc Mini Sprint feature win. It was his second victory of the season and helped the Whiting driver extend his point. Rounding out the top five were Chayton Young, Lane Saville, Chris Lennox, and Kevin Smith. Lane Saville and Gage Provencher were heat race winners.

Next up for Devil’s Bowl Speedway is CCV (Community College of Vermont) night, including an appearance by the Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Series. All weekly divisions will be in action, with pit gates opening at 3 p.m., grandstands opening at 5:30 p.m., and racing scheduled to start at 7 p.m. 

Share this story:
Back to Top